Smetana THE MOLDAU | Rachmaninoff PIANO CONCERTO NO. 2 | Rimsky-Korsakov SCHEHERAZADE
Maag Music Hall
15:30 Zahnradstrasse 22, 8005 Zürich
Hungarian Symphony Orchestra (HSO)
Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra Berlin
Michael Zukernik
Conductor, founder and artistic director of Philharmonisches Kammerorchester Berlin and Concert Media agency.
Orchestra artists
View all artists
Andrei Gavrilov
The phenomenal piano playing Andrei Gavrilov has been honored by a number of the highest awards.

Our evening concert will open with Smetana’s poem “The Moldau” from his famous set “My Homeland” (Czech: Má vlast). The main theme emphatically runs through the whole piece and represents the author’s adaptation of the Italian renaissance melody “La Mantovana” which is also the basis for the Israeli national anthem, Hatikvah.    

The second work will be Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18. This piece was composed between 1901 and 1902, after Rachmaninoff had experienced a deep creative crisis, and consequently coincided in time with his relief. Moreover, this romantic concert in three movements reflects the melancholy that accompanied Rachmaninoff for a long time. Tonight this work will be performed by the internationally renowned pianist Andrei Gavrilov.   

Afterwards, the orchestra will dedicate itself to the symphonic work of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: the musicians will perform Scheherazade, a tale from 1001 nights. King Shahryar, who became convinced of the disloyalty of his brides, vowed that he would execute a new bride every day, was however saved by Scheherazade, being captivated by her tales. Scheherazade is a masterful symphony full of harmony and longing where the last word retains the “eternal” solo violin melody embodying Scheherazade’s soft voice.

Maag Music Hall
Zahnradstrasse 22, 8005 Zürich
Ticket Hotline: +41 44 206 34 34